DIY Gobbi Mobile

Standard

I have been reading about how I can stimulate my 10 week old baby girl. She is very alert and gets very fussy if she is bored. I never realised a newborn could be bored before now! I suppose with my first baby, I naturally stimulated her. She was the centre of my world! My attention was never divided. But now, with an active toddler on overdrive, my baby girl doesn’t get the time I could give my eldest. So I have been reading about Montessori mobiles. I made a black and white one out of paper before she was born but it’s nothing to write about! But then I found out about Gobbi Mobiles.

Gobbi mobiles (so named after the creator) are a series of spheres in graduated shades of the same colour. The intention is to stimulate the visual sense. Also, you could put it within arm’s reach so that she randomly bats at it. Eventually, she will realise that she is responsible for the movement of the spheres.

I used four spherical polystyrene balls, 4 times 2 metres of ribbon (shades of green), beading string, hot glue and skewers (which I don’t recommend; a dowel would have been better).
imageimageimage

My baby girl loved this mobile! It’s not the best job in the world but for £6 you can’t go wrong! I hope you find this helpful!image

3 responses »

  1. This is so pretty, we co sleep so our little one hasn’t got a mobile and hes a little older but I think I may have to do some of these for our kitchen window, Thanks for the idea

Leave a Reply

