Learning to Read

Standard

I suppose the biggest challenge for homeschooling parents is teaching our children to read.  Some children seem to learn how to do it on their own, others are reluctant.  While other parents talk about reading readiness, I come somewhere in between.  I’d be lying if I said I have no problems waiting for Lady P to read ‘when she is ready’.  I think most of us can admit to wanting them to read as soon as possible.  So trying not to push them before they are ready, is quite difficult.  So I guess that is why I am enjoying her new reading lessons as they force ME to wait.  She goes at a pace she is comfortable with and I’m not over doing it with the expectations. 

  
I am also trying to let my children play without interruption.  Especially when they play together and are deep in imaginary land (as I like to call it).  I hate to be interrupted when I’m doing things I love so I TRY to let them play without interfering when I can (plus it gives me a break). 

   
 
So I guess I am learning as I go along what makes my children happy and what makes them want to learn!  That’s one of the goals for our family: to create self-learners!  

Leave a Reply

