Into the Woods

Standard
Into the Woods

I am trying to spend time outside every day I can with the kids.  On Wednesdays, we have a little friend who comes to play as well: so going outside is the easiest thing to do! 

This week we went to a small wooded area near our home and just spent time exploring.  When I asked Lady P if she wanted to go to the playground after,  she responded: ‘no thank you, I want to stay here!’

WHAT? This is a first!  My experiment is working!  She is slowly becoming an outdoor child! Whoopee! 

Picking the flowers of wild garlic

The boys exploring wood chip and crawling in the dirt


We did eventually go to the playground to wait for our little friend’s mummy to pick him up. The girls practiced balancing and ran around with no shoes on. I read an article about the importance of walking with no shoes on.  ‘Walking barefoot…develops the muscles and ligaments of the foot, increases the strength of the foot’s arch, improves proprioception (our awareness of where we are in relation to the space around us) and contributes to good posture.’ (The Guardian) I’ve decided to let them go barefoot as much as possible, where it is safe to do so. (One step closer to tree hugger)
In the morning, it was raining heavily so we did our schoolwork then.  
It was a wonderful, stress-free day! It’s days like this that make me glad I made the choice to home educate! 

I

Leave a Reply

